U.S Army Wounded Warrior Program (AW2)

The Army Wounded Warrior Program (AW2)  is the official U.S. Army program that assists and advocates for severely wounded, ill, or injured Soldiers, Veterans, and their Families, wherever they are located, regardless of military status.  Soldiers who qualify for AW2 are assigned to the program as soon as possible after arriving at the WTU.  AW2 supports these Soldiers and their Families throughout their recovery and transition, even into Veteran status.  This program, through the local support of AW2 Advocates, strives to foster the Soldier’s independence.

Eligibility Requirements

To qualify for AW2, a Soldier must suffer from wounds, illness, or injuries incurred in the line of duty after September 10, 2001, and receive or expect to receive at least a 30% rating from the Integrated Disability Evaluation System (IDES) for one of the conditions listed below, or receive a combined 50% IDES rating for any other combat/combat-related condition:

  • Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
  • Severe traumatic brain injury (TBI)
  • Severe loss of vision/blindness
  • Severe hearing loss/deafness
  • Fatal / incurable disease with limited life expectancy
  • Loss of limb
  • Spinal cord injury
  • Permanent disfigurement
  • Severe burns
  • Severe paralysis

-Source: http://wtc.army.mil/aw2/index.html

JaVonte’ Brumbaugh


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s